COS 429 - Computer Vision

Fall 2017

Course home Outline and Lecture Notes Assignments


Readings

The optional textbook for the course is Computer Vision: Algorithms and Applications by Richard Szeliski. There is a PDF version of the book available at http://szeliski.org/Book/. In addition, we will be reading a few recent vision papers.


Schedule

Date Lecture (click for notes) Readings Assignments
Thu, Sep 14 Introduction to computer vision Ch. 1.1  
Tue, Sep 19 Image formation and capture Ch. 2.2.3 – 2.3  
Thu, Sep 21 Convolution and filtering Ch. 3.2, 3.4, 4.2 Assignment 0 due
Tue, Sep 26 Feature detectors and descriptors Ch. 4, Trucco & Verri, Ch. 4.1 – 4.3;
SIFT paper
Thu, Sep 28 Fitting, Hough transforms, RANSAC    
Tue, Oct 3 Image alignment and stitching Ch. 6.1.1 – 6.1.4; Ch. 9 (optional);
Multires blending paper
 
Thu, Oct 5 Intro to recognition Ch. 14 Assignment 1 due
Tue, Oct 10 Classification Dalal & Triggs paper
Thu, Oct 12 Part-based models    
Tue, Oct 17 Object detection Deformable Parts Model (DPM) paper  
Thu, Oct 19 Texture Ch. 10.5; Efros & Leung paper;
Efros & Freeman paper; Image Quilting
Assignment 2 due
Tue, Oct 24 Segmentation and clustering Ch. 5.2 – 5.4; Martin et al. segmentation paper;
Shi and Malik normalized cuts paper
 
Thu, Oct 26 Midterm    
Tue, Oct 31 No class - fall break
Thu, Nov 2 No class - fall break
Tue, Nov 7 Motion, Optical Flow, Tracking I Ch. 8.4; Lucas-Kanade paper;
Ch. 8.1 – 8.3 (optional)
Thu, Nov 9 Tracking II    
Tue, Nov 14 Intro to 3D vision; stereo Ch. 11.1 – 11.4; Ch. 12 (optional)  
Thu, Nov 16 Multiview reconstruction Ch. 11.6; Voxel coloring paper Assignment 3 due 
Tue, Nov 21 Camera geometry and calibration Ch. 2.1; Ch. 6.3 (optional)  
Thu, Nov 23 No class - Thanksgiving
Tue, Nov 28 Introduction to Deep Learning    
Thu, Nov 30 Deep Learning II: Layer types and training  
Tue, Dec 5 Deep Learning III: Initialization, Architectures, Applications    
Thu, Dec 7 Deep Learning IV: Object Detection and Segmentation   Assignment 4 due
Tue, Dec 12 Deep Learning V: Segmentation  
Thu, Dec 14 Advanced topics  
Fri, Dec 15   Project milestone due
TBA Final project presentations    
Tue, Jan 16     Project report due



Last update 17-Oct-2017 10:25:36