#

Computer Architecture and Organization

Spring 2021

Mohammad Shahrad

Course Information

An introduction to computer architecture and organization. Instruction set design; basic processor implementation techniques; performance measurement; caches and virtual memory; pipelined processor design; design trade-offs among cost, performance, and complexity.
Lectures:
  • Mon/Wed/Fri, 12:30-1:20pm ET (The first lecture will be on Feb. 1, 2021.)
  • Zoom link for the class can be found on the course Canvas.
Prerequisite:
The prerequisite for this course is COS 217, Introduction to Programming Systems. ELE 206/COS 306 is not a prerequisite.

Textbook:
D. Patterson and J. Hennessy, Computer Organization and Design - Fifth Edition     Course Textbook Cover Photo
You can attain the book through Labyrinth Books to use the discount for Princeton students.
Alternatively, you can find the interactive version of the book on zyBooks [instructions].

Announcements:
  • We will use Canvas, not Blackboard.
  • The main venue for online course discussions will be Ed Discussion. Enrolled Princeton students can sign up for the course Ed Discussion here.

Course Staff


Instructor: Dr. Mohammad Shahrad
mshahrad@cs.princeton.edu
Office hours: Tue 10:30-11:30am ET, Wed 4:30-5:30pm ET


Susan Tan
zujunt@cs.princeton.edu
Office hours: Fri 3-5pm ET


Ziyang Xu
ziyangx@cs.princeton.edu
Office hours: Tue 6-7pm ET / Fri 11:30am-12:30pm ET


Bhargav Godala
bgodala@cs.princeton.edu
Office hours: Mon/Wed 3-4pm ET


Xiaorun Wu
xiaorunw@princeton.edu

Julian Knodt
jknodt@princeton.edu

Caio Costa
ccosta@princeton.edu