Princeton University
Computer Science Department

Computer Science 340
Reasoning about Computation

Ran Raz

Spring 2017

General Information | Schedule | Policies


An introduction to mathematical topics relevant to computer science. Combinatorics, probability and graph theory will be covered in the context of computer science applications. The course will present a computer science approach to thinking and modeling. Students will be introduced to fundamental concepts in theoretical computer science, such as NP-completeness and cryptography that arise from the world view of efficient computation.

Administrative Information


MW 3:00PM-4:20PM, Computer Science Building 104


Please direct questions concerning your precept assignment to Colleen Kenny-McGinley, the CS Department's Undergraduate Coordinator. Colleen's contact information is provided later on this page. The course's professor, lead preceptors, and graduate student preceptors do not manage precept assignments.

Number Meeting Time Meeting Place Preceptor
1 Th 10:00AM-10:50AM CS Building 102 Petras
3 Th 2:30PM-3:20AM CS Building 102 Petras
4 F 12:30PM-1:20PM Friend Center 009 Khodak
5 F 12:30PM-1:20PM CS Building 102 Saunshi
6 F 1:30PM-2:20PM CS Building 102 Saunshi

Lead Instructor

Ran Raz, Ph.D. : CS Building 307, email: ranr (at)

Office Hours: T 11AM and T 12PM in CS Building 307

Lead Preceptors

Iasonas Petras, Ph.D. : CS Building 209, email: ipetras (at)

Office Hours: M 12:30PM, M 1:30PM, Th 11:00AM and Th 12:00PM in CS Building 209


Mikhail Khodak : CS Building 201, email: mkhodak (at)

Office Hours: F 9AM and F 10AM in CS Building 201

Nikunj Saunshi : CS Building 003, email: nsaunshi (at)

Office Hours: T 10AM, T 11AM, F 9AM and F 10AM in CS Building 003

Undergraduate Graders

Evelyn Ding, email: eding (at)

Mohamed El-Dirany, email: mohamede (at)

Kavirath Jain, email: kjain (at)

Lucy Lin, email: ll7 (at)

Kai Lu, email: kail (at)

Brian McSwiggen, email: bm14 (at)

Carlos Molina: email: cmolina (at)

Rishiprotim Nag, email: rnag (at)

Will Rivitz, email: wrivitz (at)

Alexandra Vogelsang, email: aav5 (at)

Blair Wang, email: zcwang (at)

Lab Teaching Assistants

Rodrigo Angelo, email: rangelo (at)

Maryam Bahrani, email: mbahrani (at)

Hrishikesh Khandeparkar, email: hrk (at)

Andreea Magalie, email: amagalie (at)

Daniel Stanley, email: ds32 (at)

Andrew Jacobs Wonnacott, email: awonnacott (at)

Undergraduate Coordinator

Colleen Kenny-McGinley : CS Building 210, email: ckenny (at)


COS 126 and 226 (or sufficient mathematical background), and MAT 175, 202, 204. COS 226 can be taken along with COS 340 in the same term.

Textbooks and Other Reading

Academic Regulations

Please study the course Policies webpage.