POPL '03 Call for Participation

The 30th Annual ACM SIGPLAN-SIGACT Symposium on
Principles of Programming Languages

January 15-17, 2003

Conference Reception, January 14, 2003

New Orleans, Louisiana


Scope of the Conference

The annual Symposium on Principles Of Programming Languages is a forum for the discussion of fundamental principles and important innovations in the design, definition, analysis, and implementation of programming languages, programming systems, and programming abstractions. 

Conference Registration

Registration for POPL 03 and affiliated workshops is now available here.

The early registration deadline is December 25, 2002.

Conference Location

The Big Easy! The Crescent City! Birthplace of Jazz! The City that Care Forgot! New Orleans is known by any number of nicknames, but none can completely describe the city. Located at a bend in the Mississippi River in southeastern Louisiana, New Orleans is a city with several distinct neighborhoods. The most famous is the French Quarter - about 10 square blocks just north of the river. The buildings here were constructed over 200 years ago and all remain in reasonable condition. To walk through here is to walk through time - the streets are narrow and often damp, and with just a bit of imagination you can picture what life was like two centuries before. The French Market offers eclectic shops, and once night falls, you can head to the world-famous Bourbon Street for evening fun.

This year the conference will be held at the Hyatt Regency in New Orleans, just in time for the beginning of Mardi Gras season.  On Tuesday evening, there will be a reception to open the conference.  On Thursday evening, there will be a banquet at the Aquarium of the Americas.  When you book rooms at the conference hotel be sure to mention ACM POPL'03 to get the conference rate of $149/night.

The deadline for this special room rate is December 23, 2002.

Hyatt Regency, New Orleans

Poydras Plaza at Loyola

New Orleans, Louisiana

70113-1805 USA

Tel:  +1 504-561-1234

Fax:  +1 504-587-4141

Since the time to acquire Visas to enter the US is longer than usual right now, we strongly encourage international visitors to ensure they have completed the proper paperwork as soon as possible.

Conference Program

Tuesday January 14, 2003

Conference Reception (6:00-9:00)

Wednesday January 15, 2003

Invited Speaker:  Simon Peyton Jones, Microsoft Research (9:00-10:00)

Session Chair: Amr Sabry (10:30-12:00)

The Essence of XML

Jerome Simeon (Bell Labs) and Philip Wadler (Avaya Labs)

Selective Memoization

Umut A. Acar and Guy E. Blelloch and Robert Harper (Carnegie Mellon University)

Environment Classifiers

Walid Taha and Michael Florentin Nielsen (Rice University)

Session Chair: Catuscia Palamidessi (2:00-3:30)

Bigraphs and Transitions

Ole Hoegh Jensen (U of Aalborg) and Robin Milner (U of Cambridge)

The M-Calculus: A Higher-Order Distributed Process Calculus

Alan Schmitt and Jean-Bernard Stefani (INRIA)

A Generic Approach to the Static Analysis of Concurrent Programs with Procedures

Ahmed Bouajjani (U of Paris), Javier Esparza (Edinburgh) and Tayssir Touili (U of Paris)

Session Chair: Jack Davidson (4:00-5:30)

Discovering Affine Equalities Using Random Interpretation

Sumit Gulwani and George C. Necula (UC Berkeley)

Bitwidth Aware Global Register Allocation

Sriraman Tallam and Rajiv Gupta (U of Arizona)

From Symptom to Cause: Localizing Errors in Counterexample Traces

Thomas Ball (Microsoft Research), Mayur Naik (Purdue) and Sriram K. Rajamani (Microsoft Research)

Thursday January 16, 2003

Invited Speaker: Ehud Shapiro, Weizmann Institute of Science  (9:00-10:00)

Session Chair: John Field (10:30-12:00)

Folklore Confirmed: Reducible Flow Graphs are Exponentially Larger

Larry Carter, Jeanne Ferrante (UC San Diego), and Clark Thomborson (UAuckland)

New Results on the Computability and Complexity of Points-to Analysis

Venkatesan Chakaravarthy (UW-Madison)

Incremental Algorithms for Dispatching in Dynamically Typed Languages

Yoav Zibin and Joseph Gil (U Technion)

Session Chair: Joe Wells (2:00-3:30)

From control effects to typed continuation passing

Hayo Thielecke (U Birmingham)

Coercive subtyping for the Calculus of Constructions

Gang Chen (Boston U)

Efficient Algorithms for Isomorphisms of Simple Types

Yoav Zibin, Joseph (Yossi) Gil  (U Technion), Jeffrey Considine (Boston U)

Session Chair: François Pottier (4:00-5:30)

A Type Theory for Memory Allocation and Data Layout

Leaf Petersen, Robert Harper, Karl Crary, and Frank Pfenning (Carnegie Mellon University)

Static prediction of heap space usage for first-order functional programs

Martin Hofmann and Steffen Jost (LMU Muchen)

Toward a Foundational Typed Assembly Language

Karl Crary (Carnegie Mellon University)

Banquet at the Aquarium of the Americas (7:00-10:00)

Friday January 17, 2003

Invited Speaker:  Barbara Liskov, MIT (9:00-10:00)

Session Chair: Kim Bruce (10:30-12:00)

Guarded Recursive Datatype Constructors

Hongwei Xi, Chiyan Chen and Gang Chen (Boston U)

A Type System for Higher-Order Modules

Derek Dreyer, Karl Crary, and Robert Harper (Carnegie Mellon University)

Pure Patterns Type Systems

Gilles Barthe, Horatiu Cirstea, Claude Kirchner and Luigi Liquori (INRIA)

Session Chair: Bjarne Steensgaard (2:00-3:30)

Destructors, Finalizers, and Synchronization

Hans-J. Boehm (HP Labs)

Interprocedural Compatibility Analysis for Static Object Preallocation

Ovidiu Gheorghioiu, Alexandru Salcianu, and Martin Rinard (MIT)

A Real-time Garbage Collector with Low Overhead and Consistent Utilization

David F. Bacon, Perry Cheng, and V.T. Rajan (IBM)

Affiliated Events

Fifth International Symposium on Practical Aspects of Declarative Languages (PADL 03)

Workshop on Foundations of Object-Oriented Languages (FOOL 10)

ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on Types in Language Design and Implementation (TLDI 03)

  • Saturday Jan. 18, 2003
  • Program Chair:  Peter Lee;  General Chair:  Zhong Shao
  • Web page:  http://www-2.cs.cmu.edu/~petel/tldi03/

  • Program Chair

    Greg Morrisett
    Computer Science Department
    4133 Upson Hall
    Cornell University
    Ithaca, New York  14853-7501  USA
    E-mail: jgm@cs.cornell.edu
    Tel.: +1-607-255-3009
    Fax: +1-607-255-4428

    General Chair

    Alex Aiken
    Computer Science Division

    773 Soda Hall
    University of California, Berkeley
    Berkeley, California  94720-1776  USA
    E-mail: aiken@cs.berkeley.edu
    Tel: +1-510-642-5319


    Manuel Fähndrich, Microsoft Research


    David Walker, Princeton University


    Program Committee

    Lennart Augustsson, Sandburst
    Rastislav Bodik, UC Berkeley and IBM Research
    Kim Bruce, Williams College
    Jack Davidson, University of Virginia
    Amy Felty, University of Ottawa, Canada
    John Field, IBM Research
    Cormac Flanagan, Compaq Systems Research Labs
    Joxan Jaffar, National University of Singapore
    Greg Morrisett, Cornell University
    Catuscia Palamidessi, INRIA Futurs
    François Pottier, INRIA Rocquencourt
    Amr Sabry, Indiana University
    Davide Sangiorgi, University of Bologna
    Bjarne Steensgaard, Microsoft Research
    Joe Wells, Heriot-Watt University, Scotland

    This page is maintained by David Walker.