Quick links

Michael Stonebraker '65 wins Turing Award

Michael Stonebraker

Michael Stonebraker'65      Photo courtesy of ACM.

Princeton graduate Michael Stonebraker has been awarded the A. M. Turing award by the Association for Computing Machinery;  this is Computer Science's highest honor.  Dr. Stonebraker, a professor at MIT, won the award "for fundamental contributions to the concepts and practices underlying modern database systems."

Dr.  Stonebraker received his B.S.E. from Princeton University in 1965, majoring in Electrical Engineering.  This department became EECS in 1972, and split into two departments (Computer Science and Electrical Engineering) in 1985.

Several Turing award winners have studied or taught at Princeton:
Alan Turing (PhD Princeton 1938).
Marvin Minsky (PhD Princeton 1954, Turing Award 1969).
John McCarthy (PhD Princeton 1951, Turing Award 1971).
Dana Scott (PhD Princeton 1958, Turing Award 1976).
Michael Rabin (PhD Princeton 1957, Turing Award 1976).
Robert Tarjan (PhD Stanford 1972, Turing Award while professor at Princeton 1986).
Richard Stearns (PhD Princeton 1961, Turing Award 1993).
Andrew Yao (PhD Illinois 1975, Turing Award while professor at Princeton 2000).
Robert Kahn (PhD Princeton 1964, Turing Award 2004).
Michael Stonebraker (BSE Princeton 1965, PhD Michigan 1971, Turing Award 2014).


Follow us: Facebook Twitter Linkedin