Princeton University
Computer Science Department

Computer Science 217
Introduction to Programming Systems

Szymon Rusinkiewicz

Spring 2019


Directory
General Information | Schedule | Assignments | Announcements | Policies

Summary

Introduction to programming systems, including modular programming, advanced program design, programming style, test, debugging and performance tuning; machine languages and assembly language; and use of system call services.


Administrative Information

Lectures

MW 10:00AM-10:50AM, CS Building 104

To make the lectures more interactive, we will be using iClickers. Any hardware version is suitable.

Precepts

Please direct questions concerning your precept assignment to Colleen Kenny, the CS Department's Undergraduate Coordinator. Colleen's contact information is provided later on this page. The course's professor, lead preceptors, and graduate student preceptors do not manage precept assignments.

Number Meeting Time Meeting Place Preceptor
1 MW 1:30PM-2:20PM Friend Center 111 Robert Dondero
2A MW 3:30PM-4:20PM Friend Center 110 Robert Dondero
3 TTh 12:30PM-1:20PM Friend Center 111 Seo Young Kyung
4 TTh 1:30PM-2:20PM Friend Center 111 Xiaoyan Li
5 TTh 3:30PM-4:20PM Friend Center 111 James Heppenstall
6 TTh 7:30PM-8:20PM Friend Center 111 Josh Zhang

Lead Instructor

Szymon Rusinkiewicz, Ph.D. : CS Building 406 : smr@cs.princeton.edu

Office Hours: M 11:00AM and W 11:00AM in CS Building 406

Lead Preceptors

Robert Dondero, Ph.D. : Corwin Hall 038 : rdondero@cs.princeton.edu

Office Hours:

Xiaoyan Li, Ph.D. : 221 Nassau Street, Room 104 : xiaoyan@cs.princeton.edu

Office Hours: T 11:00AM and Th 11:00AM in 221 Nassau Street, Room 104

Graduate Student Preceptors

James Heppenstall : jwmh@princeton.edu

Office Hours: M 7:30PM and W 7:30PM in Friend Center 010

Seo Young Kyung : skyung@princeton.edu

Office Hours: F 11:00AM and F 12:00noon in Friend Center 010

Josh Zhang : jiashuoz@princeton.edu

Office Hours: T 8:30PM and Th 8:30PM in Friend Center 111

Undergraduate Graders

Tom Colen : tcolen@princeton.edu

Jamie Guo : jamieguo@princeton.edu

Frankie Lam : slflam@princeton.edu

Ryan McCaffrey : rm24@princeton.edu

Vinay Ramesh : vramesh@princeton.edu

Nalin Ranjan : nranjan@princeton.edu

Lauren Tang : lt7@princeton.edu

Christopher Ye : czye@princeton.edu

Murilo Zanarella : muriloz@princeton.edu

Lily Zhang : llzhang@princeton.edu

Undergraduate Coordinator

Colleen Kenny : CS Building 210 : ckenny@cs.princeton.edu

Lab Teaching Assistants

Available in rooms Lewis Library 121 and Lewis Library 122. A lab teaching assistant schedule provides details.


Prerequisites

COS 126. More specifically, you should have substantial programming experience using some high-level programming language such as Java. Prior experience with the C programming language is helpful but not essential.


Textbooks and Other Reading

The course uses these textbooks and manuals:

Required Textbooks

Highly Recommended Textbooks

Those books are available in the University bookstore and are on reserve in the Engineering Library.

Recommended Textbook

Reference Manuals

The course uses these manuals, for reference only:


Academic Regulations

Please study the course Policies, especially those regarding collaboration on assignments.